Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

WCHF announces Class of 2024

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

On April 27, the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) State Board of Directors selected 23 individuals to induct into the WCHF Class of 2024. 

The inductees will be honored during the 11th Annual WCHF Induction Ceremony, held Oct. 11-12 at the Ramkota Hotel in Casper. The ceremony is open to the public.  

The hall of fame

According to the board’s May 2 press release, regional committees across 10 different areas of Wyoming researched and scored over 50 nominations, then sent their top picks to the WCHF State Board of Directors, which selected this year’s class.

“Formed for historical, cultural, literary and educational purposes, WCHF’s chief goal is to preserve, promote, perpetuate, publish and document Wyoming’s working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced the culture to this state,” reads the release.

“WCHF plans to collect, display and preserve the stories, photos and artifacts of such individuals and anything else which will honor and highlight their contributions to our history,” it continues.

Class of 2024

Inductees selected from Region One include Campbell County’s Steve Bossman of Oshoto and Matt Avery and George Amos, both of Gillette, as well as Crook County’s John Jack Shelldorf of Sundance and Weston County’s Matilda “Tillie” Mae Bock Sewell of Osage.

Selected from Region Two was Platte County’s Alva Miller of Chugwater, and from Region Three, Albany County’s

Dallas Talbott of Laramie and Norman Hanks of Garrett, as well as Laramie County’s Ronald McDonald of Burns.

Converse County’s Byron Eugene Wollen of Douglas was selected from Region Four, and Johnson County’s John Gammon of Buffalo was selected from Region Five. 

Nominees hailing from Region Six include Park County’s George Brown of Cody and Washakie County’s Samuel Reed Hampton of Worland.

Three individuals from Fremont County were selected for Region Eight, including Richard Ellis and Charles Randall “Tuffy” Van Patten of Lander and Carl Riley of Riverton, as well as Hot Springs County’s Jim Dowdy of Thermopolis. 

Uinta County’s Ida Kaye Harvey Sadlier of Robertson was the sole nominee from Region Nine, while five individuals were selected from Region 10.

They include Sublette County’s John Budd and Gary Lozier of Big Piney, Kevin Campbell of Bondurant and Steven James of Daniel, as well as Teton County’s Norman Rezin “Bill” Tanner of Jackson. 

No individuals were selected from Region Seven.

Hannah Bugas is the managing editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup. Send comments on this article to

Back to top