Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

UW CALSNR hosts Spring Awards Ceremony

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

The University of Wyoming (UW) College of Agriculture, Life Sciences and Natural Resources (CALSNR) honored students and faculty at its annual Spring Awards Ceremony on April 25 in Laramie.

UW Provost and Executive Vice President Kevin Carman noted individuals honored at the spring ceremony are extremely valuable to the college.

UW CALSNR Interim Dean and Director of the Ranch Management and Agricultural Leadership Program Kelly Crane reiterated Carman’s praise, adding, “We value their passion, insights and commitment to helping the college as they serve as advocates working in legislature and our communities.”

Prior to the awards presentation, Crane introduced new members of the advisory committee, including Bureau of Land Management State Director Andrew Archuleta and Wyoming Game and Fish Department Deputy Director Angi Bruce.

Presenting at the celebration was special guest and UW Honorary Degree Recipient Dr. Noah Hull, a UW CALSNR alumni who will be recognized on May 11 at UW’s commencement ceremonies.

College awards

“All of our staff work extremely hard, and I want to recognize all of our department nominees,” Crane announced.

The first staff award of the evening, the CALSNR Outstanding Staff Award, went to UW Zoology and Physiology Master Technician Steven DeVries and Dean’s Office Coordinator of College Affairs Kelly Wiseman. 

Presenting the UW Extension Administrative Professional of the Year Award was UW Associate Dean and Agricultural Experiment Station Director Eric Webster who presented this year’s award to Campbell County Administrative Assistant Treasure Boller.

Webster also presented the UW Extension Bright Future Award to Fremont County Administrative Assistant Kassie Weber and the UW Extension Newer Employee Recognition Award to Johnson County 4-H Youth Development Educator Bryce McKenzie.

Next to be honored was Niobrara County 4-H Youth Development Educator Kellie Chichester, Park County 4-H Youth Development Educator Mary Louise Wood, Natrona County Community Vitality and Health Educator Joddee Jacobsen and Weston County 4-H Youth Development Educator Erin Persche, who all received the UW Extension Creative Excellence Recognition Award.

The final award Webster presented was the Jim Debree Excellence in Extension Award, which went to Teton County Community Vitality and Health Educator Mary Martin.

“This is one of our most prestigious awards, and this is the second time Martin has won it – she won it 10 years ago as well,” Webster stated. “She is one of our best educators and represents our Extension programs well.”

Additional award winners

Carman, Crane and Webster also recognized Laramie Research and Extension Center Accountant Amy Newman as the recipient of the Kathleen Bertoncelj Wyoming Agriculture Experiment Station Outstanding Staff Award.

Next to be honored was UW Department of Molecular Biology Assistant Professor Dr. Thomas Boothby, who received the Agriculture Experiment Station Early Career Research Award.

“I appreciate the award and all of the support I have received from my team and department,” Boothby said. “It’s been a pleasure starting up the lab here and getting to work with so many fantastic colleagues. Thank you very much.”

Webster acknowledged Boothby has received six new extramural and three intramural grants and has one proposal currently under review.

“This is truly an impressive effort and an outstanding achievement for a new faculty member who has been with UW for just a year,” Webster said.

This year, the Agricultural Experiment Station Outstanding Research Award had four nominees, with the award going to UW CALSNR Professor Dr. Jeff Beck.

Webster noted, “Beck is running a prolific research program and has acquired over $11 million in funding.”

Beth Fowers, UW assistant research scientist, received a new award this year – the Agriculture Experiment Station Outstanding Research Support Award.

Final awards

Webster honored three recipients from the Agricultural Experiment Station Reflections Faculty Author Award, all out of  UW’s Department of Zoology and Physiology.

The honorees were recognized for their recent publication and include Wyoming Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Federal Staff Unit Leader Matt Kauffman, Assistant Unit Leader Annika Walters and Assistant Unit Leader Anna Chalfoun.

The Wyoming Unit is a cooperative research program housed under UW’s Zoology and Physiology Department.

UW PhD Student Sabrina White in the Department of Zoology and Physiology was the recipient of the Reflections Student Author Award in memory of Lynn Feltner for her research article “How do Wyoming bumble bees respond to heat stress.”

The next award is the most prestigious award UW offers for education excellence, and recipients received a monetary award and a plaque which will be displayed in the college.

The CALSNR Outstanding Educator Award went to four outstanding recipients, including Park County 4-H Youth Development Educator Mary Louise Wood, UW Department of Family and Consumer Science Assistant Lecturer Sarah Lee, UW Department of Botany Instructional Professor and Associate Director of Life Sciences Program Dr. Chris North and UW Zoology and Physiology Assistant Professor Dr. Amy Navratil.

Crane presented the final award of the ceremony, which was the Andrew Vanvig Outstanding Lifetime Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, going to UW Zoology and Physiology Department Head and Professor Dr. Robert Scott Seville.

Melissa Anderson is the editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup. Send comments on this article to

Back to top