Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

WCHF announces 2022 inductees

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

The Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) selected 36 inductees for the Class of 2022. The WCHF State Board of Directors voted on the nominees from across the state during its annual meeting May 1.  

The induction ceremony will be at the Little America in Cheyenne, Sept. 23-24 and is open to the public. The event is part of the annual Wyoming Cowboy and Cowgirl Legacy Week established by the Wyoming Legislature in 2019. 

Regional committees in 10 different areas of Wyoming researched and scored over 70 nominations and sent the top picks to the WCHF State Board of Directors. 

Formed for historical, cultural, literary and educational purposes, WCHF’s chief goal is “to preserve, promote, perpetuate, publish and document Wyoming’s working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced that culture to this state. WCHF plans to collect, display and preserve the stories, photos and artifacts of such individuals and anything else that will honor and highlight their contributions to our history.”

WCHF Class of 2022

Region One inductees include Charles L. Reynolds and Rod Smith of Campbell County and Crook County’s Maurice Williams and the Driskill family – this family nomination includes Col. Jesse Lincoln Driskill, Jesse Lincoln “Link” Driskill II,  John Wylie “Bud” Driskill, William Walter “Tobe” Driskill, Jesse Loring “Diddy” Driskill, Jesse Belvin “Buz” Driskill,  Malcolm Franklin Driskill and Jesse Thomas “Tom” Driskill.

Region Two inductees are Goshen County’s Clyde Omar Stewart and Wayne S. Hunter along with Arthur Samuel “Artie” Joss of Niobrara County.

Region Three inductees include Albany County’s Philetus Rathburn and Laramie County’s Wayne and Francis Peavy “Biddy” Bonham.

Region Four inductees are Dennis Robert Daly of Converse County and Dee Burtch of Natrona County.

Region Five inductees are Robert Borgialli, Neal Rodney Schuman and William Thomas Wagoner of Johnson County, and Sheridan County’s Zane R. Hilman. 

Region Six inductees include Joseph S. Bassett of Big Horn County and Chris C. Renner of Park County. There were no county selections for Washakie County. 

Region Seven inductees include Lua Burton Kelly and Frank E. Miller of Carbon County, and Sweetwater County’s Bert Lamb, Charles Alfred Stillman-Philbrick and Elroy P. “Bronco Jim” Philbrick. 

Region Eight inductees are Fremont County’s Robert William Hamilton, Bob Bessey and Clyde Woolery and Hot Springs County’s Ramul Dvarshkis and Larry Bentley.

Region Nine inductees are John H. Hamilton and Richard H. “Dick” Hamilton of Unita County. 

Region 10 inductees include Sublette County’s Charles Leonard Priebe, Milford Byron “Mike” Steele, Ivan Samuel “Pete” Hoagland, Carl Philip “Red” Mathisen, Thomas Daniel O’Neil Sr. and Kent Snedicor, and Teton County’s Bob Lucas and Jim Maher.

The WCHF Board is comprised of one member from each of the state’s 10 regions. Contributions to support the mission of the WCHF are always accepted and appreciated.

Information in this article was sourced from the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame May 13 press release. Kaitlyn Root is an editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup. Send comments  on this article to

Back to top