Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

WHCF announces inductees

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

Wyoming springtime marks the annual selection of the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) inductee class. 

Nominations were accepted from Dec. 1, 2019 through Feb 28, 2020. Regional committees in 10 different areas of Wyoming read, researched and scored over 70 nominations and sent the top 50 picks to the WCHF State Board of Directors. 

WCHF State Board of Directors voted on those selections the first weekend of May and voted 41 nominees into the 2020 WCHF class of inductees. 

The induction ceremony will be at the Little America of Cheyenne, Sept. 19-20, during the annual Wyoming Cowboy and Cowgirl Legacy Week.

Formed for exclusively historical, cultural, literary and educational purposes, WCHF’s chief goal is to preserve, promote, perpetuate, publish and document Wyoming’s working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced that culture to this state.  

WCHF plans to collect, display and preserve the stories, photos and artifacts of such individuals and anything else that will honor and highlight their contributions to our history.

The WCHF Class of 2020 includes the following individuals from the 10 established regions and a board decision winner.

Region One winners are Campbell County’s Butch Reynolds and Aldin Reynolds, Crook County’s Ed Cooper and Kenneth Canfield and Weston County’s Francis Sedgwick, Jean Harshberger. 

Region Two winners are Platte County’s James “Jim” Wilson, Niobrara County’s Fred and Clara Wilson, Donald Heckert and Pat Miller and Goshen County’s Edward Johnson.

The Region Three winners are Laramie County’s Marie Belle and Russ Stinnette.

Region Four winners are Natrona County’s Jim and Peggy Price and James Baker and Converse County’s Fred Hageman and Teddy Pennington.

Region Five winners are Sheridan County’s Archie Nash and Ralph Foster and Johnson County’s Sue Jarrard and Raynard McKenzie 

Region Six winners are Big Horn County’s Robert Good and Park County’s Mel Stonehouse, Robert Earl Curtis and Dale M. Sims.

Region Seven winners are Carbon County’s Ben Kern, Donald and Dorothy Kortes and Sweetwater County’s Thomas Francis Pearson, Lige Driskell and George Finch.

Region Eight winners are Fremont County’s Tommy Jarrard, John Jack Darnell and Ronald Crawford

Region Nine winners are Uinta County’s Don and Claudia Proffitt and Bertha Hamilton.

Region 10 winners are Sublette County’s Jep Richie and Buss Fear, Teton County’s Chancy Wheeldon and Kenneth Griggs and Lincoln County’s Stepp Family and Stan Murdock.

The board decision winner is Russell Pinky Walter.

Back to top