Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

Wyoming Farm Bureau recognizes members at Legislative Meeting

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

Cheyenne – The Wyoming Farm Bureau Federation recognized outstanding membership work being done by Wyoming’s counties and individuals at their 2014 Legislative Meeting in Cheyenne on Feb. 27.

Gold and Silver Quota traveling trophies were awarded to the counties that had reached the quota of greatest percentage of regular members by the start of the legislative meeting. 

The awarding counties both met 116 percent of their quota. 

The Gold trophy recipient was Carbon County, and Albany County was the recipient of the Silver trophy.

Teamwork awards of $250 were also given at the meeting to one county from every district of Farm Bureau. There are a total of five districts in Wyoming – central, northwest, southwest, northeast and southeast.

The teamwork award is based on a point system, with 10 points for every quota and 10 points for regular member’s quotas, two points for every regular member over quota and one point for members over their quota. 

The county presidents chooses the recipients of the award. 

The winners included Carbon County, with a total of 127 points from Central District, Sheridan County, with a total of 79 points from Northeast District, and Goshen County with a total of 73 points from Southeast District.

The recipient for Northwest District was Park County, with 57 points, and the Southwest District winner was Lincoln County, with 46 points. 

The Outstanding Membership Secretary award is given to three secretaries who have shown superb performance, quality of transmittals, neatness, accuracy, membership acquisition and outstanding effort toward reaching quota goals. 

An award of $100 and a certificate were given to Ashley Winter from Albany County, Carol Toft from Natrona County and Don Hickman from Uinta County. 

The county with the greatest gain of regular members from the previous year in Farm Bureau is awarded the Ken Hamilton Century Club Membership, and 2014’s winner was Hot Springs County with 112 percent growth.  

Madeline Robinson is the assistant editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup and can be reached at

Back to top