Skip to Content

The Weekly News Source for Wyoming's Ranchers, Farmers and AgriBusiness Community

Outstanding ag industry representatives recognized at cattle convention awards ceremony

by Wyoming Livestock Roundup

Cheyenne – At their annual award luncheon during the 2013 Wyoming Cattle Industry Convention and Trade Show on June 7, the Wyoming Stock Growers Association (WSGA) presented a number of awards to outstanding ag citizens.

Dianne Kirkbride, a Wyoming Beef Council board member, presented Wyoming Beef Council Awards to Jim Graves and Spencer Ellis.

“Jim is an avid supporter of the beef industry. He’s been active in the WSGA since 1992. He’s done a lot for the beef council,” said Kirkbride, adding that he supported the Wyoming Beef Council at the state and national level. “We appreciate everything he has done for us.”

Spencer Ellis also received a Wyoming Beef Council Award, but was unable to attend the event.

“There are always special people who make and industry an organization more successful,” said WSGA Executive Director Jim Magagna, recognizing both Doug Hixon and Randy Teeuwen for their support of Wyoming’s cattle industry.

“Doug has probably had a positive impact on every cattle production system in Wyoming over the past 30 years and it is something we are grateful for,” said Magagna. “A good friend of ours, Doug Hixon, will be retiring from UW after 30 years. Doug has done so much for this industry over that time.”

Randy Teeuwen was also recognized for his service to Wyoming agriculture.

“He has made tremendous impact in a short number of years – certainly an impact in agriculture through Wyoming Ag in the Classroom and being a friend of WSGA, doing so much to help us in our programs,” commented Magagna. “More important than the dollars, he stood out as an example of how to be a part of the community that you live and work in.”

The Outstanding Range Professional Award was presented to Patricia Hatle of Cody BLM. She has worked to establish trust and cooperation between landowners, permittees, agency, advocacy groups and other stakeholders.

“The partnership she has developed has allowed the Cody Field Office to make progress in terms of land health,” commented Joe Thomas, who presented the award. 

Doug Thompson was presented the Guardian of the Grasslands award.

Doug Thompson ranches on the Sweetwater in Fremont County. He is actively involved in the Wyoming Sage Grouse Working Group and he serves on the BLM Resource Advisory Council. It is because his commitment to rural communities that WSGA honored Thompson with the Guardian of the Grasslands award.”

Wayne and Judi Fahsholtz of the Padlock Ranch were also recognized as the winners of the WSGA Environmental Stewardship Program Leopold Conservation Award. 

Another honor presented by the WSGA is the honorary lifetime membership. The organization elected Lois Herbst to honorary membership in 2013.

“Lois Herbst has been elected to become an honorary member of the WSGA,” said Mark Eisele, former WSGA president. “This represents the highest honor accorded by the association on any member who has contributed outstanding service to the association and Wyoming’s livestock industry.”

Saige Albert is managing editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup and can be reached at

  • Posted in People and Business Features
  • Comments Off on Outstanding ag industry representatives recognized at cattle convention awards ceremony
Back to top